In the Presbyterian Church, elders (the meaning of the word "presbyters") make up the church’s governing body or "Session."

Members of the congregation nominate candidates for the position of elder annually and the congregation votes as a whole. Once ordained and installed, elders serve a three-year term, though their ordination is for life. Members are encouraged to bring their concerns and ideas to any elder at any time, though there are no "constituencies" within the congregation.

From the ordained elders in the congregation, the Session elects a Clerk and a Treasurer. The Clerk prepares the agenda and materials for Session and congregational meetings, prepares minutes, and other duties. As part of their service to the church many elders at MPC also chair ministry teams.

These are the officers and members of Morningside Presbyterian’s 2016 Session, their ministry assignments, and their contact information:

Clerk of Session: Curt Barrett (ClerkofSession@morningsidepc.org)

Treasurer: Bill Humphries

Class of 2019

Allen Burke:  Finance Co-chair 

Nancy Collins:  Mission Ministries Co-chair (Mission@morningsidepc.org)

Martin Dunlap:  Human Resources Co-chair (hr@morningsidepc.org)

Catherine Fleming: Youth and Families Ministries (Youth@morningsidepc.org)

Sarah Beth Gehl: Commitment Ministries Co-chair (Commitment@morningsidepc.orgSub-committees: Annual Campaign, Stewardship Education, Planned Giving

Emilie Paille: Discipleship Ministries (Discipleship@morningsidepc.org)

Class of 2020

Curt Barrett:  Clerk of Session  

Beth Farnsworth:  Strategic Planning  

Lisa Jern: Human Resources Co-chair (hr@morningsidepc.org)

Stephanie Libby: Children's Ministries (Children@morningsidepc.org)

Suzanne Macpherson: Commitment Ministries Co-chair (Commitment@morningsidepc.org) Sub-committees: Annual Campaign, Volunteer Coordination

Michael Pittman: Evangelism Ministries (Evangelism@morningsidepc.org) Sub-committees: Family Initiatives, Community Initiatives, Greeters, New Member Classes, Visitor Contact

Class of 2021

Katie Davis: Worship and the Arts (WorshipandArts@morningsidepc.org)

Ame Frease: Fellowship Ministries  (Fellowship@morningsidepc.org)
Sub-Committees: Weekly Events, Special Events, Funeral Receptions, Church Retreat

Mark GilbreathMission Ministries Co-chair (Mission@Morningsidepc.org)
Sub-committees: Justice, Advocacy and Environmental Action; Special Offerings and Walks; Community Outreach, Global Concerns, Mission Trips 

Michael Lowery: Facilities  (Operations@morningsidepc.org) Sub-committees: Information Technology

Carol Southwood: Evangelism Ministries co-chair (Communications@morningsidepc.orgSub-committees: Communications, website

Kyle Ulep:  Finance Co-chair