2013-04-07_elder_web

Elders

In the Presbyterian Church, elders (the meaning of the word "presbyters") make up the church’s governing body or "Session."

Members of the congregation nominate candidates for the position of elder annually and the congregation votes as a whole. Once ordained and installed, elders serve a three-year term, though their ordination is for life. Members are encouraged to bring their concerns and ideas to any elder at any time, though there are no "constituencies" within the congregation.

From the ordained elders in the congregation, the Session elects a Clerk and a Treasurer. The Clerk prepares the agenda and materials for Session and congregational meetings, prepares minutes, and other duties. As part of their service to the church many elders at MPC also chair ministry teams.

These are the officers and members of Morningside Presbyterian’s 2016 Session, their ministry assignments, and their contact information:

Clerk of Session: Daisy Ottmann (ClerkofSession@morningsidepc.org)

Treasurer: Bill Humphries

Class of 2017

Ellen Brown Landers:  Human Resources Co-chair (hr@morningsidepc.org)

Kim Nuckols:  Commitment Co-chair (Commitment@morningsidepc.org)
Sub-committees: Annual Campaign, Stewardship Education, Volunteer Coordination, Planned Giving

Susan Oder:  Worship and the Arts (worship@morningsidepc.org)

Jeff Peters:  Planning
Sub-committees:  Care Initiatives; Engagement; Facilities, Tech and Communications; Human Resources; Worship and the Arts

Peter Tuuk:  Discipleship Small Groups Sub-comittee (Discipleship@morningsidepc.org)

Alex Watts:  Finance Co-chair

Class of 2018

Tony Fishpaw: Mission Ministries Co-chair (Mission@Morningsidepc.org)
Sub-committees: Justice, Advocacy and Environmental Action; Special Offerings and Walks; Community Outreach, Global Concerns, Mission Trips 

Marshall HunterEvangelism Ministries Co-chair (Evangelism@morningsidepc.org)
Sub-committtes: Family Initiatives, Community Initiatives, Greeters, New Member Classes, Visitor Contact

Dave Mogge:  Facilities  (Operations@morningsidepc.org)
Sub-committees: Information Technology

Sarah Tomaka: Children and Families Ministries (Children@morningsidepc.org)
Sub-committees: Children’s Christian Education, Morningside Preschool, Children and Family Programs

Sandra Ward: Fellowship Ministries  (Fellowship@morningsidepc.org)
Sub-Committees: Weekly Events, Special Events, Funeral Receptions, Meeting Support, Regular Events, Church Retreat

Greg Wolters: Human Resources Co-chair (hr@morningsidepc.org)

Class of 2019

Allen Burke:  Finance Co-chair

Nancy Collins:  Mission Ministries Co-chair (Mission@morningsidepc.org)

Catherine Fleming: Youth and Families Ministries (Youth@morningsidepc.org)

Sarah Beth Gehl: Commitment Ministries Co-chair (Commitment@morningsidepc.org)

Emilie Paille: Discipleship Ministries (Discipleship@morningsidepc.org)
Sub-committees: Adult Faith Development (Emilie Paille), Leadership Training, Small Groups Coordination(Peter Tuuk) 

Vacant:  Evangelism Ministries Co-chair (Communications@morningsidepc.org)
Sub-committees:  Communications, website