Elders

In the Presbyterian Church, elders (the meaning of the word "presbyters") make up the church’s governing body or "Session."

Members of the congregation nominate candidates for the position of elder annually and the congregation votes as a whole. Once ordained and installed, elders serve a three-year term, though their ordination is for life. Members are encouraged to bring their concerns and ideas to any elder at any time, though there are no "constituencies" within the congregation.

From the ordained elders in the congregation, the Session elects a Clerk and a Treasurer. The Clerk prepares the agenda and materials for Session and congregational meetings, prepares minutes, and other duties. As part of their service to the church many elders at MPC also chair ministry teams.

These are the officers and members of Morningside Presbyterian’s Session, their ministry assignments, and their contact information:

Clerk of Session: Curt Barrett, ClerkofSession@morningsidepc.org

Treasurer: Bill Humphries

Class of 2019

Finance co-chair: Allen Burke

Mission Ministries co-chair: Nancy Collins, Mission@morningsidepc.org

Human Resources co-chair: Martin Dunlap, hr@morningsidepc.org

Youth and Families Ministries: Catherine Fleming, Youth@morningsidepc.org

Commitment Ministries co-chair: Sarah Beth Gehl, Commitment@morningsidepc.org

Sub-committees: Annual Campaign, Stewardship Education, Planned Giving

Discipleship Ministries: Emilie Paille, Discipleship@morningsidepc.org

Class of 2020

Clerk of Session: Curt Barrett, ClerkofSession@morningsidepc.org

Strategic Planning: Beth Farnsworth

Human Resources co-chair: Lisa Jern, hr@morningsidepc.org

Children's Ministries: Stephanie Libby, Children@morningsidepc.org

Commitment Ministries co-chair: Suzanne Macpherson, Commitment@morningsidepc.org

Sub-committees: Annual Campaign, Volunteer Coordination

Evangelism Ministries: Michael Pittman, Evangelism@morningsidepc.org

Sub-committees: Family Initiatives, Community Initiatives, Greeters, New Member Classes, Visitor Contact

Class of 2021

Worship and the Arts: Katie Davis, WorshipandArts@morningsidepc.org

Fellowship Ministries: Ame Frease, Fellowship@morningsidepc.org

Sub-Committees: Weekly Events, Special Events, Funeral Receptions, Church Retreat

Mission Ministries co-chair: Mark Gilbreath, Mission@Morningsidepc.org

Sub-committees: Justice, Advocacy and Environmental Action; Special Offerings and Walks; Community Outreach, Global Concerns, Mission Trips

Facilities: Michael Lowery, Operations@morningsidepc.org

Sub-committees: Information Technology

Evangelism Ministries co-chair: Carol Southwood, Communications@morningsidepc.org

Sub-committees: Communications, website

Finance co-chair: Kyle Ulep